I hate cooking. I hate food shopping. There – I said it.

That’s not entirely true, of course. It’s just that with three kids, activities, volunteerism, etc., sometimes it seems a real effort. Food shopping with them in tow used to be a real joy also :). I started to appreciate food shopping when my grandmother became sick and realized that it really is a privilege to be able to walk in and choose your own groceries. That’s why it makes me mad today that when I walk in a regular grocery store I have to snub 95 percent of it. Many companies are making efforts, but it has to come from the demand of the consumers.

I went food shopping today. I went to the cheaper store (we won’t pick on any one chain) because we need to be a little more conservative with money right now. When I don’t make food the priority, then we sometimes make choices of which I am not particularly fond. The kids also have some pressure at school: “Johnny brings in this” and “Annie brings in that.” This all makes me sad because I know that for our family it’s a choice to sign them up for hockey, dance, swimming, and own a timeshare at Disney. It’s usually unexpected medical or household costs that causes the food budget to diminish, but clearly we need to factor in the choices made otherwise. For many families it is not a choice. In the United States statistics are not kept up-to-date.
United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) statistics right now are from 2011. Showing 15 percent of America in 2011 as food insecure, that figure still amounts to 1 in 6.5 people. I believe that number might be higher. 

It’s funny the curveballs life throws us. I’ve gone from just wanting to take my little girl to McDonald’s with her friends 13 years ago to educating my three children to stay away from McDonald’s today. And, with three kids, who wouldn’t want an occasional night off from cooking? Last night we went to what used to be my favorite local ice cream shop. I say “used to” because I’ve moved away from the area a number of times and in my last few visits to the shop I’ve found it particularly disappointing. My “hot turkey” was highly processed lunch meat and my mashed potatoes were clearly from a canned surplus. What was the vegetable of the day? Thought I might score there. Corn! Really? I chose the applesauce, which, I might add, probably had corn in it – high fructose corn syrup. I don’t blame the establishment. This is family business that is due to celebrate their 100 year anniversary soon. They are just trying to compete. 

Going out seems like it might pay, but you’ll pay with your health if you’re not careful. It’s hard to find salads that are not iceberg lettuce or without meat, cheese or vegetables devoid of vitamins. Never mind the vitamins. These vegetables need to be produced in high quantities, and are likely genetically modified. Did you know that genetically-modified means pesticides built in? Yes, built into the seed. I did NOT know this until just some time ago. 

Here’s two eye-opening experiences our family has had:

Once, more than seven years ago, we were travelling to Virginia (I believe) and we were stuck in traffic for hours. We were desperate by then, so we stopped at a rest area that only had a McDonald’s. I ordered a grilled chicken sandwich (don’t know if it was before the salad era or not) and a vanilla milkshake. Neither tasted like real food. I guess we hadn’t eaten fast food in a while. This was the first time I personally felt that the state of our food and environment had to be connected to my children’s food allergies.

Another time, about two or three years ago, my husband and I did a detox and elimination diet. In adding food back in, we had grass-fed beef from New Zealand. We had just did the detox diet and we don’t eat red meat very often, so the difference in taste was unbelievable. It tasted like burgers we had when we were children. 

These examples are to point out the gradual desensitization of American tastebuds. When you stop eating foods, such as ice cream, for instance, and try it again after some time, you will realize that it does not taste good. Well, maybe it tastes fine to the kids, but for those of us that remember the creamery ice cream, you will then realize it tastes nothing like it. There are
ingredients in our ice cream such as sulfur dioxide that I’ve covered in my 
holiday eating article. There are also stabilizers, as there are in many foods, that contain gluten. Could this overuse be the cause of so many peoples’ problems today?

For eating out, Dr. Mark Hyman has a
free restaurant guide. Otherwise, for your own fruits and vegetables, there are many sources that can guide you into growing your own. If you’re not up for this, then check out the Environmental Working Group’s top 12 (dubbed the “Dirty Dozen”) that you should absolutely buy organic. If you cannot live without meat, then meat is where you should invest your most money. Purchasing humanely raised meats with no antibiotics or hormones are the best choices – grass-fed usually has less of these. “Certified” organic is key to avoiding pesticides. Lean cuts will also minimize this as antibiotics, hormones and pesticides will settle in the fatty areas of the meat. Also avoid nitrates, because these are preservatives and add a lot of unnecessary salt to our diet. 

There is some satisfaction that comes from preparing your own meals. The same meal at home will mostly be healthier than any version you choose outside the home. Except for the dishes :) (which I now enlist the kids to do), 9 out of 10 times it will be quicker to cook at home. Fish doesn't take long at all. Sometimes my family eats a little later, or we have to "carry out." So, sometimes it does, in fact, require some planning. Generally, however, you will also save money.

 In addition to making smarter choices, we can also write our
House representatives or Congressional senators. The Food Revolution Summit has been very exciting for me this week, and there are many issues that will come to the surface soon. The more people push, then the better the food situation will get. Even people who scoff at the notion that there is nothing
wrong with our food will soon have to wake up.




Leave a Reply.